New Mexico Travel Information

Located in the southwest portion of the United States, New Mexico was originally populated by Native Americans before it became part of the Spanish Empire, a part of Mexico and finally a territory and state of the United States. New Mexico was admitted to the union as the 47th state in 1912.

New Mexico’s economy is based on oil and gas production. There are three air force bases in New Mexico:  Cannon Air Force Base, Holloman Air Force Base and Kirtland Air Force Base. Fort Bliss, an army proving ground, is also located in the state. Interestingly, New Mexico is one of the four corner states.

This phenomena occurs only once in the entire country. Simply put, Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah meet in one place – a corner of each state matching up perfectly to the other three. Four Corners is a major tourist attraction because it is the only place that it is possible to stand in one place and be in four states.

Map of New Mexico:

What do you think of this state? Do you live or ever visited the state of New Mexico? Please feel free to share your experience with us!

Related Posts

No Comments

Leave a Reply